AV’s creative writing project

Forward

This is the journal of Jonathan Yousulus. Here I will recount my continuing adventures as a member in good standing with the Explorers Club’s British chapter exploring the vast world and all its ruins. This is my personal journal.  If I have been consumed by cannibals or foul beasts, please return it to my devoted wife, Lucy, in Maddtoppam, Yorkshire, England.

1 March, 1909

Our expedition is taking us to Golconda Fort.  We boarded a freighter headed to Alexandria, Egypt.  I spent a hot month poking about in the Valley of the Kings.  Lucy will be disappointed that I didn’t find one piece of pharaoh’s treasure. I didn’t expect to.  No one is ever going to discover a lost hoard there; it is too picked-over.  It doesn’t matter; I am looking for a more illusive treasure.  Our freighter was finally loaded down with 2323 tons of dry good.  She didn’t look like much and I prayed for smooth passage.  But her engines were good.  We landed in Karachi a day ahead of schedule.

Our over land trip was filled with seedy characters and rough lodging.  Occasionally we stayed at a British fort or a Raja’s palace. No matter where we stayed, I asked about Golconda. Around the time of the Romans the Golconda kingdom ruled much of India from this great fort.  As their kingdom weakened, their fortunes were gathered into this location. It is said that the Hope Diamond was found here and that no one has bean able to explore the entire complex. I hope there are still diamonds there. These explorations cost a fortune! I hope to be the first to confirm the fort with photographic evidence.

AV's process of revision for his paper.

13 March, 1909:

Today around noon we arrived in a dusty village called Manchirevula. The ruins of Golconda Fort should be within a day of this primitive village. In the village, our translator said we had to make an offering to their gods. Although I did it, I only did it because the chief, like the ones in the Americas, insisted that we must. They needed to see if there was a good omen. They worshiped an idol; they are so backward. They won’t listen when I tell them they are wrong to worship an idol. Apparently the sign was good because the village people agreed to let one of their young boys guide us there in the morning.

14 March, 1909:

Without the child’s help, we most certainly would not have come to the ruins of the huge place that seem to be hewn from the mountainous terrain into which it is nestled. My sources back in England said that it was due east from Manchirevula, but in fact it was north west of our location. Dr. Wikipedia’s compendiums about explorer’s treks are not always to be trusted. When we got there, it took us the better part of two hours to get that darn camera up and usable. The camera is state of the art and was given to us by a Swiss company that is trying to brake into the English market.  Maybe they should have translated their directions better. The thing is almost more bother than it’s worth. The negative I will be sending off by runner once we get back to the village. Tomorrow we will go in to the ruins.

15 March, 1909:

The fort was massive; we didn’t even explore the half of it. But we found a treasure room [at the end of a long corder that seemed to stop with nothing at the end. If you pushed a lion statue back (or leaned against it to wipe your brow) the wall opened]. It was amazing that the door worked at all. From the state that the rest of the place was [in], I though for sure we would have to brake the door down but the wall opened right up.

What we found was enough to make us all amazingly rich. We split the treasure among the team as evenly as posable.  But, as the leader of the team, it was thought only right to give me the biggest diamond out of the many diamonds in the room. This diamond may rival the Hope Diamond its self.*1 I have yet to decide on a name.

17 March, 1909:

We are leaving this village. My team and I are going back to merry ole England as much richer men than any one could have expected. The people of the village were kind to us and always more than gracious. This can not be said for all villages. Their were many on the way in to Manchirevula tried to kill us. Because we will be laden with treasure and the high probability of attack, we will be going by sea. Crossing back over all of India again is too much of a risk. I desperately want to see my wife and give her the diamond that I have named the Yousulus Diamond.

*1(note the Yousulus Diamond is second largest d iamond ever discovered)

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “AV’s creative writing project

  1. I’ve always loved adventure stories including my own. I expecially enjoy reading advetures in an earlier time. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

