Sigh

So there is such a need for children to be provided with educational materials.  Companies work hard to present themselves as credible. Scholastic is one such company.  They began by providing books which could be ordered by students and moved on to writing tests and curricula constructions.  I have always had problems with the commercialization that Scholastic put in their materials.   When I worked at a school which required me to use Scholastic, I justified it because I knew so few of the children I was teaching would be wanting to read without corporate sponsorship.

I am deeply disturbed by companies who write test also writing the curricula they are supposed to be testing.  Curricula should stand on its own. (All said aside from my mistrust of canned curricula and testing children.)

Here is why:

CNN

PRI

Love Commercial Free Childhood 

Leave a comment

Filed under Educational Philosophy

Leave a Reply

