A few word play moments.

Today BW realized the “polite k” sound – as in know.   My Casa years washed back and I began to quote:
“K goes off with a bang.
It is kiss and kick,
Kitchen and keeper.
It’s at the end of quick.
K is in kettle,
Kipper and kite.
But sometimes it’s
Modest as in know and knight.”

The rest of the younger kids surrounded me before I finished.  So, I dug out my old circle manual and we spend the pre-lunch circle reading the tongue twisters and whimsies.  The children begged me to do the hand motion circle rhymes.

I thought perhaps a few of these (many of which are Waldorf in their background) would be helpful or at least amusing.

“Whether the weather be fine
Or whether the weather be not
Whether the weather be cold
Or whether the weather be hot
We’ll weather the weather
Whatever the weather
Whether we like it or not.

The Jolly Jester of Sir John, jumped into a giant jar of juicy jam just as a joke.

There’s no need to light a night light
On a bright night like tonight.
For a night light is a slight light
On a bright night like tonight.

Finger Knitting Verses
In the woods goes the hunter,
Round the tree goes the dog,
Out pops the rabbit,
And off they run.

In through the front door.
Run around the back,
Peek through the window,
and off jumps Jack.

Help me wind my ball of wool,
Hold it gently, do not pull.
Wind the wool and wind the wool,
Around, around, around.

Fee fi fo fum
Measure my arm
Measure my nose
Measure myself from
My head to my toes.

My hands upon my head I place,
On my shoulders, on my face,
On my lips, by my side,
Then behind me they will hide.
Then I will hold them way up high,
And let my fingers quickly fly,
Hold them down in front of me,
Then I’ll clap them, one, two, three.

A wise old owl
Lived in an Oak
The more he saw
The less he spoke
The less he spoke
The more he heard
Why can’t we be
Like that wise old bird.

1 Comment

Filed under DW

One response to “A few word play moments.

Leave a Reply

