Beauty among the weeds – for Katherine

IMG_8642Years ago, when I thought it important to make my prayers practical and my attentions charged with deep meaning, I would pray at a Bible study for things that, although they still are passions of mine, were all upon which I focused. I know; I know. It is hard to believe I could possibly be more intense.

Then there was Katherine. She would appear in the Bible study – studious and thoughtful.  But when she would pray, her focus was one of thankfulness to God for the butterflies and trees and the IMG_8643light shining in the clouds.  Her prayers left me with a deep joy in God’s love for his creation. I liked the way she saw the world, but couldn’t see the swallow tail butterflies for the broken world.

Slowly the years have brought out the desire of my heart to observe the world with wonder and less critical intensity.  Well, it may not be the result of time, but rather the result of children.  Little children saying, “Come see.”

Today, following the child led to a wonderful, “Oh look.  Mom, come here.”

IMG_8640Pied BeautyIMG_8644

Glory be to God for dappled things

For skies of couple-colour as a brinded cow;

For rose-moles all in stipple upon trout that swim;

Fresh-firecoal chestnut-falls; finches’ wings;

Landscapes plotted and pieced—fold, fallow, and plough;

And all trades, their gear and tackle and trim.

All things counter, original, spare, strange;IMG_8641

Whatever is fickle, freckled (who knows how?)

With swift, slow; sweet, sour; adazzle, dim;

He fathers-forth whose beauty is past change:

Praise Him.

Gerard Manley Hopkins

Leave a comment

Filed under Biology, gardening, Practical Life - Elementary, Science

Leave a Reply

