DW – creative writing – How to Eat Your Tongue

We were discussing eating your words as a idiom.  Then the kids got a little silly – so did the adults – and this creative writing ensued:

Eating your tongue is a very interesting process.  It’s important that you know that once you have eaten your tongue, you can not have a tongue again.  If I ever ate my tongue, I would eat it on my dying day.  Yes, I have never eaten my tongue.  My friend did, and graciously wrote down how to do it, and now I’m going to tell you how to do it.  Eating your tongue is painful, once you have eaten it you can’t talk, taste, or anything else you tongue does.  Although you forget all of this once you taste it, nose taste.

First you take a knife and cut off your tongue, make sure you have plenty of bandages for this step.  Cut it up and use it as the meat in a favorite food dish, or cut it up and eat it plain.  Apparently both are tasty, so pick what you heart most desires.  When you are eating it, try not to think about the fact that it is your own tongue.  This dish is better than a good steak, and since you have had all that good food it adds to the flavor.  They say you are what you eat, it is totally true.  Because your tongue has the slightest flavor of everything you have eaten.

I hope wherever you decide to eat your tongue, take heed of my warnings and tips.  But it does have a good flavor.  Writing this has inspired me to eat my tongue.  I’m sure just the tip of my tongue won’t hurt, right. Oh, Oh, Oh it’s so good.  Just a little bit more. That won’t hurt. Right? Mm, M mmmm mm mmm m mmm mmmm! ( Oh, I knew it was a bad Idea!)

2 Comments

Filed under 15 minute writing, DW, English Language, Students

2 responses to “DW – creative writing – How to Eat Your Tongue

  1. A spoonful of silliness a day keeps the good doctor away! Brought to mind Roald Dahl’s ‘revolting recipes’. Have the children read it ?

Leave a Reply

